Sunday, July 7, 2013

Member News

The Sidewise Award judges are pleased to announce this year's nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History.  The winners will be announced at LoneStarCon 3, this year's Worldcon, in San Antonio, Texas during the weekend of August 29.  The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year's panel of judges was made up of Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form

* Lou Antonelli, “Great White Ship” (DailySF, 5/11/12)
* Sean McMullen, “Steamgothic” (Interzone 241, 7-8/12)
 * Ian Sales, “Adrift on the Sea of Rains” (Whippleshield Books)
* Catherynne Valente, “Fade to White” (Clarkesworld Magazine #71, 8/12)
* Rick Wilber, “Something Real” (Asimov’s, 4/12)

Long Form

* Thomas Brennan, Doktor Glass (Ace)
* Mark Hodder, Expedition to the Mountains of the Moon (Pyr, Snowbooks)
* Jack McDevitt & Mike Resnick, The Cassandra Project (Ace)
* Matt Ruff, The Mirage (Harper)
* C. J. Sansom, Dominion (Mantle, Pan McMillan)

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995 to honor the best allohistorical genre publications of the year. The first awards were announced in summer 1996 and honored works from 1995. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise in Time," in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.

Lou Antonelli is a founding member of SASS and currently secretary of the organization.

No comments: